Questions about exercises

Home Page Forums We’re Working Out! Questions about exercises

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    hellcha

Hi y’all.

I am new to calisthenics and I am reading the book Convict Conditioning. I have to say, it’s great!

I know that a lot of guys here have read it too so I have some questions about the book.

My first question is that are all of the exercise done with 2 secs up, 1 sec pause and 2 secs down?
    Secondly, I believe that I am not a total beginner to strength training (I think somewhere between starter and intermediate). So, with the first exercise of some movements, I can easily meet the intermediate or advanced standard right away with the right form and maybe right timing (at this moment, I presume the correct timing is as mentioned in the above question). How long do you suggest that I stick to this exercise? Is it one week or one month. For example, I (and most people) could meet the progression standard of the Wall Pushups. Should I perform this exercise for one month and move on to the next?
    The last question is, regarding squat, that I see most people said when we squat, our back should be straight while in many pics in the book, the poser’s back is fairly bent. Which one is correct?

Please answer these questions for me.

Al Kavadlo
    Keymaster

Great advice, TaaronFoote! Thanks for helping out!

hellcha

Thanks, TaaronFoote. Your answers are of more than help for me :D.

Thank you, Al Kavadlo, for creating this forum :)).

Al Kavadlo
    Keymaster

You’re welcome! Thanks for participating!

hellcha

edit: repost

Robby Taylor

Al talks about that issue in his book Pushing The Limits! Basically feet together body straight is the ideal, but it’s so difficult and cumbersome that I can’t even recall seeing a completely perfect rep anywhere. Although Al and Jim Bathurst from beastskills.com (one of the models for CC) have put up vids of very good attempts, probably the best I’ve seen.