Program Critique

Home Page Forums We’re Working Out! Program Critique

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    burtchellr

Hey all,

First off I’ve been training for about 5 years, and I started using body weight exercises about 2 months ago. I’m really wanting to learn the front/back lever skills and planch. On top of that I want to maintain my strength levels so to do so I was thinking of a program that consisted of alternating days of training.

M/W/F: Handstand, planch, front/back lever, and backbend training

T/Th/Sat: 5×5, 5/3/1, or Easy strength push, pull, squat, core, and dip progression.

Al Kavadlo
    Keymaster

That looks like a lot, but if you can handle it then go for it!

However, if you wind up needing an extra rest day then don’t feel confined to that schedule.

burtchellr

I’m not actually using any weight training other than body weight. I was just using the templates from the 5×5, 5/3/1, and such to work on my pistols, one arm push ups, and pull-ups. By dip progressions I meant going from regular dips, to Korean and such.

I was considering holding off on the front lever since I can only hold a front tuck for 10-12 seconds, and anytime I try to progress past the progression I fall. As for planch, I can now hold a tuck planch for 5x8seconds and back lever I’m holding a extended back tuck for 5×6-8 seconds. I’m wanting to get a solid over all time for each progression up to a minute. My current goals are basically weighted pistols( I can do 3×3 at 8kg), 10 each; one arm push ups, planch, and levers. I do throw in finishers from pavel’s PM alternating days of 5-10min TGU, 8-12 min of swings.

My main focus over the last few months has been nutrition, its what I’m going to school for, so my fitness programming seems to be a little off.

my current training before my deload last week looked like this: M/T/TH/Fri, Wed/Sat were skill work/active recovery and or sprint sessions