Bridge Series with Lack of Wrist Extension

Home Page Forums We’re Working Out! Bridge Series with Lack of Wrist Extension

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Mike D

Al,

I just started performing CC about 3 months ago after being introduced to it by one of my patients (I am a Physical Therapist in Minnesota). Prior to that, I decided to move away from weights and concentrate on exercises outlined in Chad Waterbury’s High Frequency Training workout (a lot of ring work). I love the CC workouts and hope to progress to the level of PCC sometime in the future (it will take me a while to get there!). My question is this…in 1992 I had wrist surgery on my right wrist. Because of that, I have a significant lack of wrist extension ROM (this was 5 years prior to becoming a PT). Have you ever instructed anyone with this scenario? I am thinking of getting a set of pushup bars to try and progress through the Bridge series (I am on Angled Bridges). I figured this could give me a mechanical advantage that I need to be able to do them. However, I am not sure if the neutral grip would place too much stress on my elbows, but, I’m not sure that I would ever be able to progress otherwise. Right now, I do them off of a desk and put a textbook under my hands. This works, but, my wrists take a beating and I don’t want it to lead to injury. I would appreciate any advice you have on this. Thanks again and I love all of your work. Keep spreading the word!!!

Mike

Al Kavadlo
    Keymaster